
Sullivan County Department of Public Health Services 
   Summer 2022 

Children’s camp operators in Sullivan County, NY must notify the District Office 
(NYSDOH) within 24 hours of the following occurrences at (845) 794-2045: 

 Camper and staff injuries or illnesses which result in death or require resuscitation, admission to 
a hospital or the administration of epinephrine. 

 Camper injuries to the eye, head, neck or spine which require referral to a hospital or other 
facility for medical treatment. 

 Injuries where the camper sustains second or third degree burns to 5 percent or more of the 
body. 

 Camper injuries that involve bone fractures or dislocations. 

 Lacerations sustained by a camper which require sutures, staples or medical glue. 

 Camper physical or sexual abuse allegations. 

Children’s camp operators in Sullivan County, NY must notify BOTH the Local Health 
Department (Sullivan County Public Health Department / (845) 292-5910) AND the District 
Office (NYSDOH) (845) 794-2045 as the camp permitting authority, within 24 hours of the 
following occurrences:  

• Camper or staff exposures to animal bites that could potentially expose campers to rabies. 

 Camper and staff illnesses suspected of being water-, food- or air-borne or spread by contact. 

 Camper or staff exposures to any communicable disease reportable by NYS Law. (see below) 

Please notify the District Office of any positive COVID-19 tests or concerns about campers or staff with 
symptoms of COVID-19, or multiple suspected cases, and follow your camp’s health and safety plan for 
isolation and infection control.  

The Sullivan County Public Health Department should be made aware of any positive COVID-19 tests.   
COVID-19 positive results conducted with OTC or rapid screening is not a confirmed laboratory report. In 
those instances you may contact us for guidance and isolate & quarantine affected staff and campers. 

Reporting of suspected or confirmed communicable diseases is mandated under the New York State 
Sanitary Code (10NYCRR 2.10).  Reports should be made to the local health department in the county in 
which the patient currently resides and need to be submitted within 24 hours of diagnosis. However, 
some diseases warrant prompt action and should be reported immediately by phone to the local health 
department (SCPHD) by summer camps regardless of county of primary residence of the camper/staff if 
he/she is residing in Sullivan County. A list of diseases and information on properly reporting them can 
be found under Communicable Disease Reporting Requirements found at 
https://www.health.ny.gov/forms/instructions/doh-389_instructions.pdf For more information on 
communicable disease reporting, call your local health department or the New York State Department 
of Health's Bureau of Communicable Disease Control at (518) 473-4439 or, after hours, at 1 (866) 881-
2809; to obtain reporting forms (DOH-389), call (518) 402-5012. 
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