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Mission Statement
The New York State Workers’ 
Compensation Board protects the rights 
of employees and employers by ensuring 
the proper delivery of benefits to those 
who are injured or ill, and by promoting 
compliance with the law.

Workers’ compensation fraud is a Class E felony, 
punishable by up to four years imprisonment and a 
$5,000 individual/$10,000 corporate fine. Subsequent 
conviction is a Class D felony.

The Workers’ Compensation Board does not discriminate 
on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, 
age, disability or sexual orientation in employment or the 
provision of service.

This pamphlet is a general and simplified presentation  
of workers’ compensation provisions and procedures.  
It is not a substitute for the law or legal advice.
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Privacy Statement
New York State Workers’ Compensation Board case records 
are private documents. Under workers’ compensation law, only 
the parties to a claim may receive information from that claim’s 
case file. Beyond the claimant and the claimant’s attorney or 
representative, the following parties may see information: 

• �employer and employer’s attorney.

• �employer’s workers’ compensation insurer and its attorney.

The insurance carrier may share information with the health 
care provider hired to do a medical examination. The health 
care provider will share medical information with the insurer 
when billing for services.

Claim information may also be shared with anyone who obtains 
a court order authorizing access. This information may also 
be shared with government entities if they are processing a 
claim for benefits or investigating fraud. No one may disclose 
information to anyone who is not authorized to see it.

Written permission may be provided to allow someone access 
to your claim information by filing either:

• �an original Claimant’s Authorization (Form OC-110A) to 
disclose Workers’ Compensation Records — available from 
wcb.ny.gov, or by calling (877) 632-4996, or

• �an original notarized letter or form authorizing a particular 
person or entity to see your claim information.

Written permission may be submitted at any time. It is always 
helpful to share a copy of that document with the person 
authorized to see your records. Some people authorize their 
spouse or child to access their records when initially filing  
for benefits.

Prospective employers may not ask about a prospective employee’s 
workers’ compensation claims before hiring him or her, or in  
connection with assessing fitness or capability of employment.
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Guide to New York Benefits: Volunteer Firefighters and Ambulance Workers

All New York State volunteer firefighters are entitled to benefits 
under the law. If you are an active volunteer member of a fire 
company of a county, city, town, village or fire district and are 
injured in the line of duty, you have workers’ compensation 
coverage available to you.

Most New York State volunteer ambulance workers are entitled 
to benefits under the law. If you are an active volunteer member 
of an ambulance company and are injured in the line of duty, 
you have workers’ compensation coverage available to you. 
Volunteer ambulance companies that are not under contract with 
a county, city, town, village or other political subdivision, or that 
do not wish to become special improvement districts of towns, 
may provide optional coverage to their workers.

You must complete a Claim for Benefits (Form VAW-3, ambulance 
workers, or Form VF-3, firefighters) from the Board or from 
the fire or ambulance district (or company). These forms are 
available on the Board’s website at wcb.ny.gov. You must notify 
one of the following individuals using a signed Notice of Injury 
(Form VAW-1, ambulance workers, or Form VF-1, firefighters) 
within 90 days of the injury.

 Clerk of the board of supervisors of the county

 �Town or village clerk

 �Secretary of the fire or ambulance district or company

 ��Comptroller or chief financial officer of the city

Mail your completed form to the Board at:  
PO Box 5205, Binghamton, NY, 13902-5205

Claims must be filed within two years of an accident or two years 
from the date a death occurs. You will be notified by mail if a 
hearing is necessary for your claim.
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Who is Covered

How to File a Claim
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What Benefits are Available for Volunteer 
Firefighters and Ambulance Workers

Volunteer Firefighters’ and Volunteer Ambulance Workers’ Benefits 
Laws provide cash benefits and/or medical care for volunteer 
members who are injured or become ill in the line of duty. To 
recognize the unselfish service of the work that you do, laws 
designed to protect volunteers like you who are injured,  
or who become ill in the line of duty, were enacted in 1957  
and 1989, respectively.

Your local political subdivision pays for insurance to cover  
these benefits, and cannot require you to contribute to the  
cost of coverage.

Weekly cash benefits and medical care are paid by your 
subdivision’s insurer, in accordance with the applicable law. The 
Workers’ Compensation Board is a New York State agency that 
administers these laws. If disputes arise, the Board adjudicates 
them through a quasi-judicial proceeding.

In a benefits case, no one party is determined to be at fault. The 
amount you receive is not decreased by your carelessness, nor 
increased by your company’s fault. You will lose your right to benefits 
if the Board determines your injury was due solely to intoxication from 
alcohol or drugs, or intention to injure yourself, or someone else.

http://www.wcb.ny.gov
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Volunteer Firefighters 
What is Considered “In the Line of Duty”

 �Participation at a fire or alarm, 
hazardous material incident, or 
other emergency that triggers 
response by the fire company 
or its units

 �Travel to, from and during 
fires or other calls the 
company responds to; travel 
in connection with other 
authorized activities

 �Some duties in the firehouse, 
such as construction, repair, 
maintenance and inspection

 �Inspection of property for fire 
hazards or other dangerous 
conditions

 �Fire prevention activities

 �Attendance at fire instructions 
or fire school; instruction at 
training

 �Participation in authorized 
drills, parades, funerals, 
inspections/reviews, 
tournaments, contests or public 
exhibitions for firefighters

 �Attendance at a convention or 
conference as an authorized 
delegate

 �Work on or testing of fire 
apparatus/equipment, fire 
alarm systems and fire cisterns

 �Meetings of the fire company

 �Pumping water or other 
substances from a basement 
or building

 �Inspection of fire fighting 
vehicles and apparatus prior 
to delivery under a contract or 
purchase, or performing duties 
related to the delivery

 �Response to a call for general 
ambulance service by a 
member of an authorized 
emergency rescue and first 
aid squad

 �Participation in a supervised 
physical fitness class

 �Fund-raising activities 
(noncompetitive events)
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Volunteer Ambulance Workers 
What is Considered “In the Line of Duty”

 �Travel to, work at, and travel from 
an accident, alarm of accident 
or other duty the ambulance 
company has responded to; 
travel in connection with other 
authorized activities

 �Personal assistance rendered 
to another ambulance company

 �Performance of duties at 
the ambulance facility or 
elsewhere, directly related to 
the prevention of accidents 
or disasters or the delivery of 
emergency health care

 �Instruction or being instructed in 
ambulance duties; attendance 
at a training school or course 
of instruction for ambulance 
workers

 �Attendance at, or participation 
in, any noncompetitive training 
program

 �Attendance at, or participation 
in, authorized drills, parades, 
funerals, inspections or reviews

 �Work in connection with the 
construction, testing, inspection, 
repair or maintenance of the  
ambulance facility and the fix- 
tures, furnishings and equipment 
thereof, and the vehicles, 
apparatus and equipment used 
by the ambulance department, 
company or unit

 �Attendance or work at meetings 
of the ambulance department 
or company, or any organized 
unit thereof, at the ambulance 
facility or other regular or 
special headquarters of the 
department, company or unit

 �Practice for, or participation as 
a contestant or an official in, 
any competitive tournament, 
contest or public exhibition 
conducted for ambulance 
workers intended to promote 
the efficiency of the ambulance 
department, company or unit

 �Inspection of ambulance 
vehicles and ambulance 
apparatus prior to delivery 
under a contract or purchase, 
or performing duties related to 
the delivery

 �Attendance at a convention 
or conference of ambulance 
workers or officers as 
the authorized delegate 
or representative of the 
ambulance department, 
company or unit

 �Work in connection with a fund-
raising activity of the ambulance 
company, not including 
competitive events where 
volunteer ambulance workers 
are competitors
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Volunteer Firefighters & Volunteer Ambulance Workers 
What is Not Considered “In the Line of Duty”

 �Participation, including practice, in any recreational or social 
activity, other than noncompetitive fund-raising activities

 �Work rendered in service of a private employer, public 
corporation or special district

 �Work rendered while on a leave of absence, a suspension from 
duty, or work that the volunteer was ordered not to perform

 �Competitive events where volunteer members compete, such 
as baseball, basketball, football, bowling, tugs of war, donkey 
baseball, donkey basketball, boxing, wrestling, contests between 
bands or drum corps, or other competitive events that involve 
physical exertion on the part of the competitors

Medical Care

All medical care for your injury or illness is paid for by your political 
subdivision’s insurer. This care is covered whether or not you  
lose time from work. It is also paid in addition to any benefits for 
missed wages.

Health care providers must be authorized by the Board. You 
can find a list of authorized health care providers on the Board’s 
website at wcb.ny.gov or by calling (800) 781-2362. You can 
receive care from any of these providers or from your own doctor  
if he or she is authorized.

The providers will send the bills directly to the insurer and the 
Board. You are not to pay any bills unless the Board disallows your 
claim. To have your travel to and from a health care provider’s office 
reimbursed, you must file a Claimant’s Record of Medical and 
Travel Expenses and Request for Reimbursement (Form C-257). 

If specific medical services are disputed, the insurer must pay 
any undisputed portion. It must also explain in writing why the 
services were not paid, and request any information needed to 
pay them. Your doctors may ask you to sign a Notice that You 
May Be Responsible for Medical Costs in the Event of Failure 
to Prosecute, or if Compensation Claim is Disallowed, or if 
Agreement Pursuant to WCL §32 is Approved (Form A-9). This 
states that you will pay the bills if the Board disallows the claim,  
or if you drop the claim before it is accepted.

Preferred Provider Organizations
The insurer may use a network of providers, known as a Preferred 
Provider Organization (PPO), to care for its members. You are 
required to use this PPO and must be notified of this by the insurer. 
You may select an authorized provider outside the PPO if, after  
30 days of treatment, you are not satisfied with your care. 

http://www.wcb.ny.gov
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Diagnostic Networks
The insurer may require you to use its facility network for 
diagnostic tests. The insurer will send you a notice if it requires 
you to use such a network. You should inform your health care 
provider(s) that the insurer has this requirement.

The insurer cannot demand that you use a network provider for 
a diagnostic test in a medical emergency. It cannot demand that 
you use a network that does not have a provider or facility within a 
reasonable distance from your home or employment.

Pharmacy Charges
You can use any pharmacy, unless the insurer uses a particular 
network. You should let the pharmacist know that you have 
a workers’ compensation case. Many pharmacists will bill the 
insurer directly; however, the pharmacy can ask for payment  
of the prescription up front. The pharmacy can only charge  
the amount specified by law. You will be fully reimbursed,  
even if you pay in advance, and you are not responsible for a  
co-payment (co-pay). 

If the insurer requires you to use its network pharmacy, the 
insurer must provide information about how to use it. Network 
pharmacies are paid directly. You are not responsible for any 
charges. The insurer cannot demand that you use a network 
pharmacy in a medical emergency if it is not reasonably 
possible. You are not required to use a network pharmacy if it 
does not offer mail order services or is not located a reasonable 
distance from your home or employment. 
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Cash Benefits

Benefits are payable to you when your volunteer company 
responds as a unit, whether the injury occurred while serving the 
home or providing aid to another area. Total disability, schedule loss 
of use or death benefits are fixed according to the statute. Weekly 
benefits for other types of injuries are determined based on your 
wage earning capacity.

Earning capacity is your capability to perform (on a five-day or  
six-day basis) the work normally done in your regular employment 
at the time of injury, or other work that could be considered a 
reasonable substitute if there is no employment. Every volunteer 
member is considered to have an earning capacity. The Board 
considers the work that you could reasonably be expected to obtain 
based on your age, education, training and experience to determine 
a reasonable wage earning capacity.

Benefits are payable from the first day of disability, with no waiting 
period. Necessary medical care is provided without regard to length 
of the disability.



If a volunteer firefighter or volunteer ambulance worker dies from a 
compensable injury, the surviving spouse is entitled to continuing 
weekly cash benefits, depending on the date of death. Surviving 
children under age 18, or under age 25 if enrolled in an accredited 
educational institution (or other dependents as defined by law), 
are also entitled to weekly cash benefits. In the description of 
the benefits below, these children are referred to as “dependent 
children.” In no instance may the weekly benefit amount exceed 
the legal maximum, regardless of the number of dependents.

Death Benefits

Surviving spouses who have not remarried and have 
no dependent children are entitled to weekly benefits

Firefighters Ambulance Workers

$887 per week if death  
occurred on or after July 1, 1992

$887 per week if death  
occurred on or after July 1, 1992

Surviving spouses with dependent children are entitled  
to smaller weekly cash benefits. These children are also 
entitled to weekly cash benefits.

Weekly benefits for surviving spouses who remarry  
and have no dependent children are replaced  

by a lump sum benefit

Firefighters Ambulance Workers

$92,219 if death occurred  
on or after July 1, 1992.

$92,219 if death occurred  
on or after July 1, 1992.

Weekly benefits for surviving spouses who remarry and have 
dependent children are replaced by smaller lump sum benefits. 
These children continue to receive weekly cash benefits.

Funeral expenses for volunteer members are payable up to a 
maximum amount of $6,700. However, if a volunteer firefighter 
dies from injuries received in the line of duty as the direct result 
of firefighting, the $6,700 maximum is not applicable. 

A lump sum benefit of $56,000 is paid to the surviving spouse, 
or to the estate if there is no surviving spouse, of a volunteer 
member if the volunteer member dies in the line of duty. The 
funeral expense and lump sum benefits are in addition to all 
other benefits provided.

If a beneficiary claiming death benefits as a dependent or 
spouse of a volunteer member dies before a determination in 
the beneficiary’s favor is made on the claim, all weekly benefits 
due from the date of death of the volunteer member up to 
the date of death of the eligible beneficiary will be paid to the 
executor or administrator of the beneficiary’s estate.
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In the event of death or disability due to disease 
or malfunction of the heart or coronary arteries, 
the claim must be decided within 90 days from 
the time the Board receives the claim.
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You can reach a settlement agreement with the insurer for the 
benefits you will receive. In exchange, you will waive your right 
to future benefits. Waiver agreements are entirely voluntary 
and are not effective until approved by the Board. The Board 
will approve an agreement unless it is unconscionable, unfair 
or improper as a matter of law; is the result of an intentional 
misrepresentation of material fact; or, if within 10 days of 
submitting the agreement, one of the interested parties asks  
the Board to disapprove the agreement.

Waiver Agreements

Rehabilitation and Social Work

Rehabilitation programs offer special services designed to 
eliminate a disability, if possible. They also reduce or alleviate 
a disability to the greatest degree possible; help you return to 
work when possible; or provide you with aid to live and work 
at your maximum capability. The Board’s Rehabilitation staff 
includes counselors, social workers, a consultant physiatrist 
(physical medicine and rehabilitation specialist), and claims 
examiners to coordinate and follow up on medical and vocational 
rehabilitation services. Rehabilitation is voluntary, except in limited 
circumstances. You should contact the Rehabilitation unit at the 
Board to determine if you are required to participate.

There are four general types of services
1. �Vocational Rehabilitation programs help people whose disability 

keeps them from returning to their former jobs. These services 
may provide guidance to help determine the best way to return 
to work.

2. �Selective Placement programs help people who are left with a  
permanent disability and who need a job that will fit their abilities.

3. �Medical Rehabilitation programs include exercise and muscle 
conditioning, under the supervision of a physician, to restore 
a person to maximum usefulness. Only physicians may 
recommend a medical rehabilitation program.

4. �Social Services, which are provided by a staff of social workers, 
are designed to assist with family or financial problems that 
interfere with rehabilitation.

If you participate in one of the rehabilitation programs, you will 
continue to receive cash benefits based on the extent of the 
disability. If you return to work but cannot earn the same wages 
because of an injury, you may be entitled to compensation 
benefits at a reduced rate.
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Hearings and Appeals

Insurers will often accept a claim and promptly begin paying 
benefits. However, an insurer can dispute a claim for various 
reasons. It may not agree that you were injured, it may not believe 
the injury occurred while it provided insurance, or any number 
of other situations. Board claims examiners and conciliators first 
attempt to resolve issues. If they can’t, the Board will hold hearings 
in front of a workers’ compensation law judge. The judge takes 
testimony and reviews your medical records and wages. The judge 
then decides the issue, and sets the amount of any award.

Either side may appeal the judge’s decision. This must be done 
in writing within 30 days of the decision. Three Board members 
review appealed cases. They may agree, change part of a decision 
or reject it. They may also return the case for more hearings. 
Insurers don’t have to pay lost wage benefits while the case is 
being reviewed by the three Board members. An insurer can accept 
part of a case and appeal another. In that instance, it must pay the 
accepted part of the award while the case is reviewed. The insurer 
must pay your wages and medical bills if your award is upheld by 
those Board members, even if it appeals the case further.

Either side may appeal that decision to the full Board of workers’ 
compensation members. If the full Board takes the case, it will 
either agree, change or overturn the decision.

Appeals from Board decisions may be taken within 30 days to  
the Appellate Division, Third Department, Supreme Court of the 
State of New York. 

Your health care provider will give you an opinion on the extent  
of the disability. Cash benefits are directly related to these 
disability classifications:

Permanent Total Disability: Your earning capacity is permanently 
and totally lost.

Temporary Total Disability: Your earning capacity is totally lost 
but only on a temporary basis.

Temporary Partial Disability: Your earning capacity is partially 
lost, but only on a temporary basis. If the loss of earning capacity 
is 75 percent or greater, you receive the maximum amount of 
$400 per week determined by the date of accident.

If the loss of earning capacity is between 50 and 75 percent,  
the benefit rate is $268 per week.

If the earning capacity loss is between 25 and 50 percent,  
the benefit rate is $30 per week. If the earning capacity loss is 
less than 25 percent, no cash benefits are paid.

Permanent Partial Disability: Part of your earning capacity has 
been permanently lost. Benefits are payable at the same rates as 
Temporary Partial Disability, except for Schedule Loss.

Schedule Loss: This is a special category of Permanent Partial 
Disability, and involves loss of eyesight or hearing, loss of a part of  
the body or its use. Compensation is paid at a certain number of  
weeks, according to a schedule set by law. For instance, 25 percent 
loss of use of an arm is equal to 78 weeks ( 1/4 of 312 weeks).

Disfigurement: Serious and permanent disfigurement to the face, 
head or neck may entitle you to compensation up to a maximum 
of $20,000 — depending upon the date of the accident.

Disability Classifications

You always have the right to an attorney or 
licensed representative, who may not ask for or 
accept a fee. The legal fee is determined by the 
Board and deducted from a compensation award.
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Frequently Asked QuestionsRisk Awareness 
Opioid Pain Medications

If you are prescribed opioid pain medications such as OxyContin, 
Percocet and Vicodin, among others, you should know that 
these medications have serious side effects, can reduce your 
ability to function and are highly addictive. 

Continued use of opioid pain medication causes changes in the 
brain and results in the need for higher dosages to obtain the 
same level of pain relief (called tolerance). Additionally, continued 
use of opioids can cause increased sensitivity to pain, and may 
even make the pain worse.

Some common side effects of opioid use include: drowsiness, 
severe sedation, dizziness, nausea, vomiting, constipation, 
confusion and memory loss. Severe side effects can include 
difficulty breathing, overdose and death. Uncomfortable withdrawal 
symptoms may occur when opioids are reduced or stopped 
suddenly (called dependence). Normal day-to-day functioning may 
become difficult. Cravings for opioids may be uncontrollable, which 
can lead to use of other drugs and behaviors harmful to oneself 
or others (called addiction). If there are concerns that opioids are 
harming you or your loved one, don’t hesitate to get help. 

Where to get help 
 �Primary care physician: Patients (and/or family members) should 
first discuss concerns with their physician. He or she can 
recommend the right specialist.

 �New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse 
Services (OASAS) HOPELine: Call or text the toll-free number at 
(877) 8-HOPENY or (877) 846-7369. Help is available 24 hours 
a day, 365 days a year. All calls are anonymous and confidential.

 �For more information, visit the OASAS website at  
oasas.ny.gov/treatment

Workers’ compensation insurance will pay for treatment if it 
is recommended by a judge or approved by your workers’ 
compensation insurance carrier.

Q. Must I wait for medical care?
A. No, but physicians must request authorization for procedures that cost 
more than $1,000 each. This $1,000 pertains to each procedure, not the 
total cost of care. Insurers must respond to the request within 30 days. 
Authorization is not necessary in case of an emergency.

Q. May a doctor treat me if the insurer does not answer a request 
for approval?
A. Yes. Insurers have 30 days to reply to an authorization request. If 
the insurer does not reply in 30 days, the provider may perform the 
services. Diagnostic tests must be obtained from a network provider, 
if the carrier requires claimants to use its network.

Q. Must I have lost time in regular employment for a disability  
to be covered?
A. Not necessarily. The disability is compensable if there is loss of 
earning capacity, or loss of use or partial use of a bodily member, 
eye or hearing.

Q. If I receive remuneration or a gratuity for performing a duty or 
activity covered under the law, can I still sustain a compensable 
injury in the line of duty?
A. No. The following items are not remuneration or a gratuity: 
reimbursed expenses for meals, lodging, necessary travel or a 
mileage allowance; and acceptance of transportation, food, drink, 
shelter, clothing and similar items while on duty.

Q. Does a notice of injury have to be provided in writing?
A. Yes. You or your representative must sign the notice. However, 
the Board may excuse the failure to give written notice on any of the 
following grounds: notice could not have been given for sufficient 
reason; a member of a body in charge of, or any officer of, the 
ambulance or fire company/district had knowledge within 90 days of 
the injury or death; the political subdivision, ambulance company or 

http://oasas.ny.gov/treatment
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Frequently Asked Questions (cont.)

NYS WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BOARD CONTACTS
Customer Service 
including Disability 
Benefits

General_Information@wcb.ny.gov

(877) 632-4996

Advocate for  
Injured Workers 

advinjwkr@wcb.ny.gov 

(800) 580-6665

Office of the  
Medical Director 

WCBMedicalDirectorsOffice@wcb.ny.gov

(800) 781-2362

Fraud Referral  
Hotline 

Inspector.General@ig.ny.gov

(800) 367-4448

To find the nearest location call (877) 632-4996  
or visit the Board’s website at wcb.ny.gov

Please send all claims-related mail to:

NYS Workers’ Compensation Board
PO Box 5205
Binghamton, NY 13902-5205
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insurance carrier was not prejudiced by a delay in giving such 
notice; the cause of disablement or death was not known to be 
the result of service performed in the line of duty as a volunteer 
member in sufficient time to comply with the notice requirement.

Q. Will I be reimbursed for purchasing necessary medicine or 
prescribed drugs?
A. To be reimbursed, you must submit to the Board and your 
insurance carrier Claimant’s Record of Medical and Travel Expenses 
and Request for Reimbursement (Form C-257) with receipts. 

Q. What happens when an insurer contests a claim?
A. To contest a claim, an insurer must file a notice of controversy 
with the Board within 18 days after the disability begins or within 
10 days of learning of the accident, whichever is later. It must 
give the reasons why the claim is not being paid. A law judge will 
resolve the issue at a pre-hearing conference or a hearing.

Q. Can a closed case be reopened?
A. Yes. The Board may reopen a closed case, subject to time 
limitations, upon application of any party. The application must 
state the basis of the request. The Board can reopen a case that 
has been completely settled by a Section 32 Waiver Agreement 
if all the parties agree to reopen it.

Q. Can I render emergency service with another district  
or company?
A. Yes. If you offer individual service to another company in New 
York State outside the area regularly served by your company 
or district, and after such services are accepted by the officer in 
command at the scene, the responsibility for benefits resulting from 
an injury in the line of duty will fall to the fire or ambulance company 
(and its political subdivision) that accepted your voluntary service.

Q. What is the penalty for making false claims for benefits?
A. Making false claims for benefits is workers’ compensation 
fraud, a class E felony. It is punishable by up to four years 
imprisonment and a $5,000 individual or $10,000 corporate fine.
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